Faculty & Staff

Northeastern Seminary is grateful for expert and supportive faculty and staff.

Get to know the Northeastern Seminary faculty

Members of the Seminary faculty invite you to join them on a coffee run to talk about theology and Northeastern's programs, along with a few unique, entertaining conversations.

Core Faculty

David Basinger , Ph.D.
David Basinger
Professor of Philosophy and Ethics 585.594.6550
Kristen Brown
Kristen Brown
Executive Director of Seminary Administration; Assistant Professor of Church and Mission 585.594.6803
David Carr , Ph.D.
David Carr
Assistant Professor of Biblical Studies 585.594.6132
Scott Brenon Caton , Ph.D.
Scott Brenon Caton
Professor of History and Culture 585.594.6336
Douglas R. Cullum , Ph.D.
Douglas R. Cullum
Vice President and Dean; Professor of Historical and Pastoral Theology 585.594.6331
Elizabeth L. Gerhardt , Th.D.
Elizabeth L. Gerhardt
Professor of Theology and Social Ethics 585.594.6607
Nelson J. Grimm , Ph.D.
Nelson J. Grimm
Professor of Applied Theology 585.594.6068
Fred Johnson , D.Min.
Fred Johnson
Director of Field Education; Assistant Professor of Christian Ministry 585.594.6800
Rebecca S. Letterman , Ph.D.
Rebecca S. Letterman
Professor of Spiritual Formation 585.594.6572
J. Richard Middleton , Ph.D.
J. Richard Middleton
Professor of Biblical Worldview and Exegesis 585.594.6971
Josef Sykora , Ph.D.
Josef Sykora
Director of Doctor of Ministry Program; Assistant Professor of Biblical Interpretation 585.594.6820
Christopher Zoccali , Ph.D.
Christopher Zoccali
Visiting Assistant Professor of New Testament 585.594.6800

Academic Support

Marilyn Erickson
Marilyn Erickson
Coordinator of Academic Planning 585.594.6497
Faith Sharp
Faith Sharp
Project Technician, Academic Services 585.594.6623


JP Anderson
JP Anderson
Associate Vice President for Seminary Enrollment 585.594.6832


Carrie Starr
Carrie Starr
Director of Seminary Advancement 585.594.6257

Adjunct Faculty (Ministry Specialists) 

  • Rev. Dr. Leith Anderson 
  • Rev. Dr. Aaron Bouwens
  • Mr. Charles H. Canon III
  • Rev. Vince DiPaola
  • Rev. Walter S. Fleming
  • Rev. Dr. Dana L. Goodnough
  • Dr. Harry J. Heintz
  • Rev. Dr. Fred Johnson
  • Mr. Charles Meeks
  • Ms. Angie Merrill
  • Mr. Jae Newman
  • Rev. Dr. Robert Tice
  • Dr. Gregory VanDussen
  • Dr. Norman Wetterau

Emeriti Personnel 

  • Dr. Barry Hamilton
  • Dr. Paul Livermore
  • Dr. Wayne G. McCown


Doctor of Ministry Guest Faculty Have Included

  • Kim Alexander
  • Christena Cleveland
  • David Fitch
  • Ruth Haley Barton
  • Craig and Médine Keener
  • Soong-Chan Rah
  • Mandy Smith
  • Phyllis Tickle
  • Mark Tyler
  • Mike Walters
  • Brian Zahnd